Journal for Nature Conservation 55, 2020

A new locality of presence for the world’s rarest turtle (Rafetus swinhoei) gives new hope for its survival: this study brings exciting new discoveries in Vietnam about the historical presence of R. swinhoei in Vietnam as well as the potential new locality of presence in the wild. We hope these research results will help to accelerate scientific endeavors in order to save Rafetus from extinction. By Olivier Le Duc, Thong Pham Van, Tomas Zuklin, Cedric Bordes, Benjamin Leprince, Charlotte Ducotterd, Vinh Luu Quang, Luca Luiselli

Russian Journal of Herpetology 27(3), August 2020

Farming characteristics and the ecology of Palea steindachneri (trionychidae) in Vietnam : Here we study, through structured questionnaires with 73 owners of turtle farms, the social and economic contexts of the business activity of breeding turtles in farms for food market. We also collected ecological data for the most intensely bred species, the Wattle-necked softshell turtle, Palea steindachneri. By Olivier Le Duc, Thong Pham Van, Benjamin Leprince, Cedric Bordes, Vinh Luu Quang, Oanh Lo Van, Anh Nguyen Thi Tam, Linh Luong Thi Khanh, Son Pham Ngoc, Luca Luiselli

Aquatic Conservation: Marine and Freshwater Ecosystems, 2020

Fishers, dams, and the potential survival of the world’s rarest turtle, Rafetus swinhoei, in two river basins in northern Vietnam: a detailed questionnaire survey conducted with more than 100 individuals from fishing communities in northern Vietnam was used to investigate the current status of Southeast Asian turtles and provides new hope concerning the survival of Rafetus swinhoei. By Olivier Le Duc, Thong Pham Van, Benjamin Leprince, Cedric Bordes, Anh Nguyen Tuan, John Sebit Benansio, Nic Pacini, Vinh Quang Luu, Luca Luiselli

Aquatic Conservation nov. 2019

Hunters’ structured questionnaires enhance ecological knowledge and provide circumstantial survival evidence for the world’s rarest turtle : the aim of this study is to enhance the knowledge of the biology and conservation of the rarest turtle in the world, Rafetus swinhoei, via a standardized questionnaire administered to former hunters of the species. By Thong Pham Van, Olivier Le Duc, Benjamin Leprince, Cedric Bordes, Vinh Quang Luu, Luca Luiselli

Herpetological Journal Vol. 29

A field investigation from 2014-2018 on the Cuora individuals traded by high-level traders in six provinces of Vietnam and the estimated numbers of traded individuals determined through interviews with traders. – Thong Pham Van, Benjamin Leprince, Hong Luong Xuan, Quyen Nguyen Thu, Olivier Le Duc, Cedric Bordes, Manh Vuong Tien & Luca Luiselli

The Herpetological Bulletin n°146

Natural history observations on the endangered turtle Geoemyda spengleri in Tay Yen Tu Nature Reserve (Vietnam), with notes on other sympatric species – Thong Pham Van, Thinh Vu Tien, Jeffrey E. Dawson, Tung Bui Thanh & Benjamin Leprince

Herpetological Journal n°29

Longitudinal monitoring of turtle trade through Facebook in Vietnam – Thong Pham Van, Vinh Quang Luu, Thinh Vu Tien, Benjamin Leprince, Linh Tran Thi
Khanh & Luca Luiselli

Sacalia n°57

This publication in german written by Benjamin LEPRINCE (president of Turtle Sanctuary) details his breeding experience of Platysternum megacephalum.

Journal for Nature Conservation 55, 2020

A new locality of presence for the world’s rarest turtle (Rafetus swinhoei) gives new hope for its survival: cette étude apporte de nouvelles découvertes passionnantes sur la présence historique de R. swinhoei au Vietnam ainsi que sur la nouvelle localité potentielle de présence dans la nature. Nous espérons que ces résultats de recherche aideront à accélérer les efforts scientifiques afin de sauver Rafetus de l’extinction. Par Olivier Le Duc, Thong Pham Van, Tomas Zuklin, Cedric Bordes, Benjamin Leprince, Charlotte Ducotterd, Vinh Luu Quang, Luca Luiselli.

Russian Journal of Herpetology 27(3), August 2020

Farming characteristics and the ecology of Palea steindachneri (trionychidae) in Vietnam : à travers des questionnaires distribués à 73 propriétaires de fermes à tortues, cette étude s’intéresse au contexte social et économique du marché de l’élevage de tortues pour l’alimentation. Des données écologiques ont également été collectées concernant l’espèce la plus élevée, Palea steindachneri. Par Olivier Le Duc, Thong Pham Van, Benjamin Leprince, Cedric Bordes, Vinh Luu Quang, Oanh Lo Van, Anh Nguyen Thi Tam, Linh Luong Thi Khanh, Son Pham Ngoc, Luca Luiselli

Aquatic Conservation: Marine and Freshwater Ecosystems, 2020

Fishers, dams, and the potential survival of the world’s rarest turtle, Rafetus swinhoei, in two river basins in northern Vietnam: cette enquête est constituée d’un questionnaire qui a été délivré auprès de 100 membres de communautés de pêcheurs au nord du Viêt-nam, pour récolter des informations sur le statut actuels des tortues d’Asie du Sud-Est, et apporte un nouvel espoir concernant la survie de Rafetus swinhoei. Par Olivier Le Duc, Thong Pham Van, Benjamin Leprince, Cedric Bordes, Anh Nguyen Tuan, John Sebit Benansio, Nic Pacini, Vinh Quang Luu, Luca Luiselli

Aquatic Conservation nov. 2019

Hunters’ structured questionnaires enhance ecological knowledge and provide circumstantial survival evidence for the world’s rarest turtle : cette étude a pour but de renforcer les connaissances sur la biologie et la conservation de la tortue la plus rare du monde, Rafetus swinhoei, via un questionnaire standardisé administré à d’anciens chasseurs de l’espèce. Par Thong Pham Van, Olivier Le Duc, Benjamin Leprince, Cedric Bordes, Vinh Quang Luu, Luca Luiselli

Herpetological Journal Vol. 29

Une étude de terrain effectuée entre 2014 et 2018 sur les spécimens de Cuora commercialisés par des marchands à travers 6 provinces du Viêt Nam et une estimation du nombre d’individus vendus à travers des entretiens avec ces marchands. – Thong Pham Van, Benjamin Leprince, Hong Luong Xuan, Quyen Nguyen Thu, Olivier Le Duc, Cedric Bordes, Manh Vuong Tien & Luca Luiselli

The Herpetological Bulletin n°146

Natural history observations on the endangered turtle Geoemyda spengleri in Tay Yen Tu Nature Reserve (Vietnam), with notes on other sympatric species – Thong Pham Van, Thinh Vu Tien, Jeffrey E. Dawson, Tung Bui Thanh & Benjamin Leprince

Herpetological Journal n°29

Longitudinal monitoring of turtle trade through Facebook in Vietnam – Thong Pham Van, Vinh Quang Luu, Thinh Vu Tien, Benjamin Leprince, Linh Tran Thi
Khanh & Luca Luiselli

Sacalia n°57

Cette publication en allemand rédigée par Benjamin LEPRINCE (président de Turtle Sanctuary) détaille ses expériences d’élevage de Platysternum megacephalum.